Digging Deeper: License to History

I’d like to start the new year with another of my favorite finds of 2022. It too is from the homesite I discovered in the woods near me, where I found the camera from the last post.

It was a hot August afternoon and I thought I found another wheat penny (no complaints). To my surprise and amazement I uncovered this!

After doing a little brushing I saw the date on the bottom and knew I had something cool in my hand(s). When I got home I was able to do the ever trusty “Googling” and discovered that it was a patent plate for one of the original cars.

First, a little history. George B. Selden was a patent lawyer and inventor from New York. In the late 1870s he filed a patent for a 1 cylinder engine and it’s use in 4 wheeled cars. It wasn’t officially granted until 1895 after Selden added some amendments.

Patent paper

This little brass plaque would have gone on cars in the early 1900s near the engine. Selden and Henry Ford had a bit of a legal feud, which led to many years of judicial fighting. No Ford vehicles would adorn this plaque. Selden produced cars and eventually trucks from the early 1900s to about the ‘30s.

Selden Motor Wagon

Here’s to many more amazing finds this year!

Leave a comment